Temporary Protected Status

What is Temporary Protected Status (TPS)?

The Secretary of Homeland Security may designate a foreign country for TPS due to conditions in the country that temporarily prevent the country’s nationals from returning safely, or in certain circumstances, where the country is unable to handle the return of its nationals adequately, such as ongoing armed conflict, an environmental disaster, an epidemic, or other extraordinary and temporary conditions.

The following ten countries have valid TPS designations; however, the Department of Homeland Security has ended TPS for El Salvador, Haiti, Nicaragua and Sudan. Many TPS beneficiaries have lived in the United States for years, contributed to the economy, and become members of their communities. After TPS designations end, beneficiaries return to the immigration status that the person held prior to receiving TPS, unless that status has expired or the person has successfully acquired a new immigration status.

Blog Posts – Countries Currently Designated for TPS

Select the country link for additional information specific to each country.